8 years ago
I'd like to create this thread so we can discuss some applications that are useful for teachers and students in ESL.
8 years ago
I'm an ESL teacher enthusiastic about integrating technology in the ESL classroom and created the Astroloquiz app that you have seen displayed on this site for some time now. If you own an iPad I'd like to ask for your support of my application so that I can continue to make more like it. It's an expensive and difficult process but ultimately, students will benefit from it the most and that is most important to me. I'd like to tell you a bit about the app here so that you can better understand how it can be used in your classes to assist you in promoting the literacy of your students.

Astroloquiz was designed for use in grades 5, 6 & 7. The aim of the application is not to teach Astrology but to give students and their teachers an opportunity to learn. Here are some of the ways the app can be harnessed in educational settings.

Astroloquiz develops creativity and critical thinking skills. Students may be shy or afraid to talk in class get a chance to speak out their minds in pairs. The app can be used as a pair and share / turn and talk activity. Ideally, sitting students together in small groups from 2 to 4 students would facilitate conversation.

In linguistic terms, Astroloquiz helps to develop a student’s communicative skills and is a powerful tool for literacy by promoting vocabulary acquisition. Students can clarify the meaning of unknown and multiple-meaning words by listening to easy to understand touch-activated definitions. Language acquisition is further enhanced by reading through situations in context.